About the Tang Prize
Award Categories
Rule of Law

Four Prize Categories

Awarded biennially, the Tang Prize bestows upon each category a cash prize of NT$40 million (approx. US$1.33 million). In addition, research projects proposed by the laureates receive a grant of up to NT$10 million (approx. US$0.33 million). Should multiple candidates (up to three) be named in the same category, the cash reward and grant are shared.

The Prize in Rule of Law

All individuals are born equal, and everyone, including states and international organizations, is accountable to the law. For the purpose of the Tang Prize, the Rule of Law encompasses due process and substantive justice, and champions peace, human rights, and sustainable development in order to serve the common good of humankind and nature. The Tang Prize in the Rule of Law recognizes individual(s) or institution(s) who have made significant contributions to the rule of law, reflected not only in the achievement of the candidate(s) in terms of the advancement of legal theory or practice, but also in the realization of the rule of law in contemporary societies through the influences or inspiration of the work of the candidate(s).