vilrtual sdc technology forum 48

Many of the severe cases of COVID-19 result from the excessive reaction of the patients’ immune system, causing "cytokine storms" to wreak havoc in their bodies and lead to multiple organ failures. The world races to find new drugs and vaccines to eradicate the virus, but this may take considerable amount of time. There is an existing subset of drugs (biologics) used to temper inflammatory reactions caused by immune system overdrive. Many of these are undergoing trials related to cytokine storms. How were these drugs discovered, and how can their impact be even greater today? The three laureates of the 2020 Tang Prize will talk about interluekin-1, interleukin-6, and TNF, the three most critical cytokines not only in cytokine storms, but also in autoimmune and autoinflammatory diseases that affect the lives of a large number of people.

Online Forum, Live-streamed
English and Mandarin channels available
Questions from online attendees are welcome


Taiwan Time:

Tuesday, September 22, 2020 09:00-11:20
GMT 01:00-03:20 World time converter


Cheng-Shing Hall, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan


The Tang Prize Foundation

 Experimental Biology, USA

 National Cheng Kung University (College of Medicine)



Welcome Remarks

Shu Chien / President, Tang Prize Selection Committee
William B. Coleman / Representative, Experimental Biology
Huey-Jen Su / President, National Cheng Kung University


2020 Laureates’ Presentations


Panel Discussion


Q & A (Questions accepted online)


Closing Remarks

  • Yun Yen

  • Emeritus President and Chair Professor of Taipei Medical University
  • Shaw-Jenq Sean Tsai

  • Chair Professor, Department of Physiology, National Cheng Kung University
  • Former Director General in the Ministry of Science and Technology
Panelists / Past Laureates
  • Charles Dinarello

  • 2020 Tang Prize Laureate in Biopharmaceutical Science
  • Distinguished University Professor of the University of Colorado
  • Marc Feldmann

  • 2020 Tang Prize Laureate in Biopharmaceutical Science
  • Emeritus professor at the University of Oxford
  • Former Head of the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology
  • Tadamitsu Kishimoto

  • 2020 Tang Prize Laureate in Biopharmaceutical Science
  • Former President of Osaka University
  • James P. Allison

  • 2014 Tang Prize and 2018 Nobel Prize Laureate
  • Chair of the Department of Immunology and Executive Director of the Immunotherapy Platform at MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Tasuku Honjo

  • 2014 Tang Prize and 2018 Nobel Prize Laureate
  • Deputy Director-General of the Institute for Advanced Study at Kyoto University