Laureates
Albie Sachs

Albie Sachs has, through his life and work, contributed to the realization of the rule of law in a free and democratic South Africa, working as activist, lawyer, scholar, and framer of a new Constitution to heal the divisions of repression, discrimination and hatred of the past, and to establishing a society that respects diversity and is based on democratic values, social justice and fundamental human rights. Further, he has contributed to human rights and justice globally through an understanding of the rule of law in which the dignity of all persons is respected, and the strengths and values of all communities are embraced.

Albie Sachs was born in Johannesburg, South Africa in 1935, into a Jewish family of Lithuanian background. After matriculating from the South African College School at the age of fifteen, he enrolled at the University of Cape Town for a five year law degree in 1951. The next year, at age 17, he joined the Defiance of Unjust Laws Campaign and was arrested for sitting on a bench in the General Post Office reserved for non-whites. Three years later, he attended the Congress of the People at Kliptown where the Freedom Charter (1955) was adopted. After having graduated with a law degree at age 21, he took up the practice of law, often in defense of people charged under racial statutes and security laws under apartheid. As a result of his work, he was raided by the security police, subjected to banning orders restricting his movement, and in 1963 was placed in solitary confinement for 168 days, under a law that permitted the government to detain dissidents for a renewable period of 90 days without charge. Two years later he was again arrested and this time subjected to torture by sleep deprivation and intensive interrogation, which led to his exile to England in 1966. 


In 1966, Sachs published an account of his incarceration, The Jail Diary of Albie Sachs, which was adapted into a play by the Royal Shakespeare Company and later dramatized for British television in 1981. His 1974 book Justice in South Africa, based on his doctoral thesis at the University of Sussex, provided an insightful narrative on the development of the intricate and sophisticated legal system in South Africa, which enforced racial discrimination and apartheid. This was an example of rule by law rather than rule of law. His pioneering book with Joan Hoff Wilson in 1978, Sexism and the Law, studied the historical discrimination against women, by documenting the role played by the judiciary in Britain and the United States, which enriched his subsequent practice in the related areas of constitutional law. 

In 1977, Sachs moved to Mozambique to help build up a new legal system for the recently liberated African country. While there he travelled frequently to Zambia to work closely with Oliver Tambo, the president of the ANC. In 1985 he drafted the Code of Conduct and Statutes for the ANC, establishing standards of treatment as well as procedural guarantees for those detained on suspicion of spying for the apartheid government. The principles enshrined in the Code of Conduct, including “no-torture” in any circumstance, were drawn from contemporary international law, with an aim of establishing the rule of law for a liberation organization in exile. Justice Sachs regards the Code as one of the most important legal documents he has written. 

In April 1988, Sachs survived a bomb placed in his car by South African security services, losing an arm and the sight of one eye. He told the story of his recovery from injuries in his book Soft Vengeance of a Freedom Fighter, the core idea being that “to get freedom was a much more powerful vengeance than to subject the people who had done these things to us to the same harm”. His personal sacrifice, vividly portrayed in the image of “roses and lilies” growing out of his amputated arm as freedom is achieved, powerfully symbolizes the reconciliation process in the democratic South Africa that was about to be realized. At the heart remained the insistence of the paramount importance of the rule of law -- “if the person accused in a Mozambique Court of being responsible for placing the bomb in my car is put on trial and the evidence is insufficient and he is acquitted, that will be my soft vengeance, because we will be living under the rule of law.” 

Prior to the bombing attack, Sachs had been mandated by Oliver Tambo to help design a future Bill of Rights for South Africa, in anticipation of the inevitable success of the freedom struggle. His was a strong voice espousing an emancipatory view of a Bill of Rights with the extension rather than the restriction of democracy in South Africa. He argued for building “a system that guarantees achievable rights to all, rather than one that embodies the victory of one side over the other”, since “a Bill of Rights coupled with guarantees of an orderly transition to full democracy in fact provides far more security than racially based constitutional schemes.” Indeed, the new Constitution was built on a belief that “South Africa belongs to all who live in it, united in our diversity.” Besides enshrining the fundamental principles of dignity, equality and freedom, the Bill of Rights was tailored to dealing with the massive social inequalities of South Africa, in that emphasis was put on second and third generation of rights “not merely as the corrector of certain perceived structural injustices”, but also as “the major instrument in the transitional period after a democratic government has been installed, for converting a racist, oppressive society into a democratic and just one.” The concept of harmony achieved through close and sympathetic social relations within the community of persons whose individual dignity is respected, may be attributed to the African philosophy of Ubuntu (I am a person because you are a person, out humanity is inseparable). 

When the ANC was unbanned and Nelson Mandela released from prison, Albie Sachs returned to South Africa in 1990 and played an active role in negotiations for a new Constitution based on non-racialism and the rule of law. After South Africa’s first democratic non-racial elections in 1994, Nelson Mandela was elected President and the new Constitution with the broadly inclusive Bill of Rights that Sachs had helped design was adopted. Further, Sachs was appointed to the new Constitutional Court, the only judge who had been a high-ranking member of the ANC on the bench. With intimate knowledge of the values behind the Constitution, Justice Sachs played an integral part in the dialogue within the Court. In fact, he was also intimately involved in designing the logo and the building of the Court, based on the idea of “justice under a tree” – portraying where people would meet to resolve disputes in traditional African societies. An image of its African root, it aptly depicts the organic relations between people and the Constitution, because “the tree protects the people, and they look after the tree.” From that, the lively spirit of constitutional protection permeates the building of the Court, built on a hill where the most notorious prison in South Africa once stood. Justice Sachs assisted in authoring many of the Court’s most important decisions and in building its reputation as one of the most important sources of transformative human rights jurisprudence in the world. In terms of the rule of law, the Constitutional Court was noteworthy for its willingness to rule against the government. Indeed, in some of its cases, Sachs found himself a party to striking down as unconstitutional laws and actions of some of his former comrades in the ANC, including even President Nelson Mandela. Loyal to the programmatic character of the Bill of Rights, the Court added strong support to the justiciability of socio-economic rights. In the landmark case Home Affairs v. Fourie in 2005, Justice Sachs authored the Court’s opinion that legalized same-sex marriage in South Africa, primarily on the ground that exclusion of same-sex couples from the benefits and responsibilities of marriage constituted a violation of the constitutional guarantees of equal rights and human dignity. 

Since the earlier stages of his career, Justice Sachs has been a visionary and an acute writer and commentator. On the bench of the Constitutional Court, his judicial writings have been widely regarded to be particularly eloquent and among those of the highest quality. The process of making those decisions was not as smooth as it seemed, as he candidly explained in the Chapter “Tock-Tick: The Working of a Judicial Mind” in The Strange Alchemy of Life and Law. Further, he has been a pioneer in the transnational judicial dialogue, promoting the practice of reading and citing decisions of courts across jurisdictions. His lectures in many parts of the globe have helped many in their understanding of the various aspects of human rights protection and constitutionalism. His views on constitutional law issues have the potential of changing or influencing scholars, lawyers outside and inside government, and social movements in many parts of the world. 

Through his personal story, his constitutional wisdom, and his clear articulation of many complex issues concerning justice and human rights, Albie Sachs stands out as one of the most influential contemporary advocates for the rule of law. His views, backed up by unyielding choices of integration over differences and inclusiveness while preserving diversity, offer significant inspiration for societies dealing with issues of division, reconciliation, and the rule of law.

奧比.薩克思
Albie Sachs

奧比・薩克思長期主張所有人的尊嚴皆應予以尊重,不同社群的能力與價值皆應予以肯認,充分體現法治的重要價值。特別是其一生致力為民主自由的南非帶來法治,無論作為政治運動工作者、律師、學者乃至於南非新憲法的起草者,在在都努力經由法治的實踐來癒合過去撕裂社會所帶來的創痛,以建立一個尊重多元,擁抱民主價值、社會正義與基本人權的社會。唐獎教育基金會因此決定將2014年唐獎法治獎頒授奧比・薩克思,以表彰他提升吾人對法治之理解,對普世人權及正義所作出卓越之貢獻。

奧比.薩克思1935年出生於南非約翰尼斯堡,來自立陶宛的猶太裔移民家庭。他於1951年15歲時,自 South African College 公學畢業,進入University of Cape Town就讀五年制的法律學士學位。次年17歲時,他參加「抵抗惡法」運動,刻意坐在郵政總局前保留給非白人的長板凳上,而遭到拘禁。三年後,他參加在 Kliptown 舉行的人民議會(Congress of People),會中通過了1955年自由憲章(Freedom Charter)。21歲取得法學士後,他開始執業,經常為種族隔離政策下被控違反種族歧視性或國家安全相關法令的人辯護。為此,他屢遭情治人員臨檢,受到限制住居與行動,1963年更遭單獨監禁長達168天,因為當時的法令允許政府不具理由逮捕拘禁異議份子,每次雖為期90天,但得不限次數加以延長。兩年後,他再次被捕,且在獄中被施以剝奪睡眠、密集偵訊等凌虐。1966年,他自願離開南非,前往英格蘭開始其流放生活。

1966年流放期間,奧比.薩克思將其獄中經歷寫成 The Jail Diary of Albie Sachs 一書,該書後來被皇家莎士比亞劇團改編成舞台劇,1981年又被製作成電視劇在英國播出。1974年他以在英國Sussex大學的博士論文為基礎,出版 Justice in South Africa 一書,為南非當時已相當成熟的法制的發展軌跡,乃至為何該法制會發展成容許執行種族隔離制度之形成,提供深具洞見的論述。此種制度,即典型的「依法而治」(rule by law),而非「法治」(rule of law)。1978年,他與 Joan Hoff Wilson 合著 Sexism and the Law 一書,審視英美司法制度史中對婦女的歧視,其中所發展的觀點,豐富了他日後在相關憲法議題上,所採取保護婦女免於歧視的立場。

1977年,薩克思移居莫三比克,協助當時新近獨立的該國建立其法制。那時他也經常到鄰近的尚比亞,協助流亡該地的非洲民族大會(ANC)及其主席Oliver Tambo。1985年,他起草ANC的「行為準則」與「章程」兩項法律文件,建立ANC在如何對待涉嫌為南非政府進行情報工作而遭拘禁的特務議題上,應適用的法律標準與程序保障。薩克思引用國際規範,包含在任何情況下皆禁止酷刑逼供(“no-torture”)的原則,為當時仍是流亡革命組織的ANC,建立了法治。直至今日,薩克思大法官仍認為該項「行為準則」是他一生中所寫過,最重要的法律文件之一。

1988年4月,南非政府的特務在他的車底放置炸彈,意圖奪取他的性命。薩克思雖幸運存活,但因此失去一條手臂與一隻眼睛的視力。他將康復的過程寫成 Soft Vengeance of a Freedom Fighter 一書,其中的核心概念─「溫柔的復仇」,是基於以下的信念:「成功得到自由,比向加害與我們的人施以同樣的惡害,更有力量。」他把個人的犧牲形容為「當自由與民主實現時,從我的斷臂中重新綻放的玫瑰與百合」,鮮活地象徵了即將到來的民主南非內,所進行的和解進程。「法治」,同樣是「溫柔的復仇」中的核心。薩克思曾說,「如果被控在我車底放炸彈的人有朝一日在莫三比克的法庭前受審,但因證據不足而無罪獲得開釋,這仍是我溫柔的復仇,因為這表示我們活在法治之下。」

在遇襲之前,薩克思已受Oliver Tambo的委託,因應即將到來的自由民主南非,草擬憲法的人權憲章。在憲章草擬中,薩克思堅持隨著民主制度的到來,人權保障應擴大適用;他主張「建立一套保障所有人民權利的制度,而非只是將特定族群的勝利以條文制定下來」,因為「人權憲章,伴隨著朝向完全民主的有秩序轉型,較基於種族的憲法架構,事實上提供了更大的安定性」。南非新憲法的前言,即表明「南非屬於居住其內之所有人民;透過其多元性而結合在一起。」他所協助建構的人權憲章,除了以人性尊嚴、自由、及平等為基本原則,也針對既存的巨大社會不平等,強調第二代與第三代人權,「不僅為了矯正若干被認為存在的結構性不正義」,更是「在民主政府成立之後,將過去種族壓迫的社會轉型為民主且公義的社會,所需要的主要工具」。其背後的理念,強調在群體中尊重每個人的尊嚴,且個人與群體間密切而相互支持的關係,是基於非洲傳統的「人飢己飢,人溺己溺」、個人與群體的人性密不可分的Ubuntu 哲學。

當ANC不再被視為是叛亂組織,曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)也從監獄中被釋放出來,薩克思於1990年回到闊別24年的南非,繼續投入催生基於種族平等與法治的新憲法的協商工作。1994年,曼德拉當選全面民選後的第一任總統,而他著力甚深的新憲法亦獲得通過,薩克思獲得曼德拉提名,成為新成立的憲法法院的法官,也是11名法官中唯一一位曾任ANC核心組成的法官。由於深知憲法所立基的價值,薩克思在憲法法院各項審議思辨中,往往扮演著核心的角色。事實上,他也深入參與了南非憲法法院識別標誌與建築的設計。其理念,「大樹下的正義」,來自於的傳統非洲社會中,人們群聚在村落中心的大樹下,公平公開地解決紛爭。此一源自於非洲的意象,同時也巧妙地描繪出人民與憲法間的有機關係,因為「大樹保護人民,而人民呵護大樹。」此一意象在憲法法院的建築與裝置藝術中,處處展現,特別是其所在的憲法山丘,過去是南非最惡名昭彰的監獄的所在地,在在提醒人們憲法對人權保障的重要。薩克思大法官協力作成該院許多極度重要的判決,幫助南非憲法法院贏得當代轉型正義與人權保障法學最重要的來源之一的崇高地位。就法治之實踐而言,南非憲法法院一向勇於作出與政府立場相異的判決。對薩克思而言,這意味著他往往參與將他過去的ANC同志,甚至包括曼德拉總統所制定的法令或行政行為宣告違憲的司法判決。南非憲法法院另一項著稱的實踐,是其忠於矯正過去不正義的原意,強力支持憲法中社會經濟權利的可司法性。此外,在2005年Home Affairs v. Fourie 一案,南非憲法法院基於憲法對平等與人性尊嚴的保障,作成同性婚姻合法化的里程碑判決,而該判決,正是由薩克思大法官所主筆。

自其傑出的法律生涯的早期,薩克思大法官就是一位深具遠見與敏銳觀察的作者。其大法官任內的許多判決,被公認為論理精闢且具有最高品質的司法論述。這些判決表面上或許條理清晰,但其思辨的過程卻遠非如此平順。對此,薩克思大法官在其The Strange Alchemy of Life and Law 一書的 “Tock-Tick: The Working of a Judicial Mind” 章中,有精闢的剖析。此外,他是提倡超國界司法對話的先驅,鼓勵法官廣泛閱讀並引用其他法體系法院所作成的判決,不遺餘力。他在世界各地的演講,幫助許多人更加瞭解人權保障與憲政主義的各種面向。他對於憲法議題的諸多觀察,將會持續影響世界各地的學者、政府內外的法律人、及從事社會運動的人士,發揮其說服、提醒、與帶來蛻變的影響力。

透過他的人生故事、憲法智慧、及對正義及人權諸多複雜議題的深刻觀察,奧比.薩克思作為當代提倡法治最具影響力的思想家之一,當之無愧。他的著述,有力且一貫地主張以融合化解歧異,既包容又尊重多元,為面臨分裂歧異、和解共生、法治建設等議題的社會,提供源源不絕的思潮,與豐富的啟發。