Dr. Samuel Yin Becomes the First Honorary President of IAE

  • Dr. Samuel Yin Becomes the First Honorary President of IAE
A- | A+

In the general assembly of the Russian Academy of Engineering (RAE) and the International Academy of Engineering (IAE) convened on March 18, new academicians and corresponding members were selected, and Chairman of the Ruentex Group, Dr. Samuel Yin, was elected as the first honorary president of the IAE. Prof. Boris Gusev, who was once again voted in as president of the RAE and IAE, noted that this appointment was a nod to the significant contribution Dr. Yin has made to engineering technology as well as his long-lasting efforts to facilitate the interaction between the IAE and other international engineering institutes. Moreover, it is a recognition of his contribution with regard to the establishment the Tang Prize, an international prize that is aimed to better the future of mankind. Prof. Gusev explained that honorary president is a highly-revered position and it was also the first time in the 30-year history of the IAE that this honor was conferred. They have also invited Dr. Yin to give a speech at the International Scientific and Practical Conference dedicated to the 30th Anniversary of the Russian Academy of Engineering and International Academy of Engineering, which will be held on May 13, 2021.


Dr. Jenn-Chuan Chern, currently vice president of the IAE, president of the Taiwan Chapter of the IAE (TCIAE) and CEO of the Tang Prize Foundation, remarked that the historical and influential Engineering Academy of the USSR was restructured in 1992, in the wake of the dissolution of the Soviet Union, and the RAE and IAE were established as a result. Headquartered in Moscow, the IAE was set up as a response to the collapse of the Soviet Union and as a way to retain the bond between former Soviet republics. It comprises 1300 academicians and members from 40 countries, including Russia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Belarus, Slovenia, Greece, Taiwan and other central European countries. Taiwan was allowed to join the IAE in 2009, and the TCIAE has since been playing a positive role in the exchange of ideas between engineering academies in Taiwan, Russia and East Europe. Needless to say, it was a great honor to have Dr. Yin, founder of the TCIAE, elected as the first honorary president.


To encourage and award those who made important contributions to engineering technology, the IAE chooses its academicians and corresponding members on a regular basis and through a rigorous process. Each branch and chapter of the IAE carefully vet all the nominees before the voting takes place at the IAE to decide the winners. In 2020, 6 people were selected as academicians and 11 as corresponding members. Prof. Keh-Chyuan Tsai of National Taiwan University is one of the newly-minted academicians. His achievements that have earned him many international awards include teaching and researching the design of structures for earthquake resistance and promoting its practical application. Prof. Duu-Jong Lee, elected as corresponding member, was lauded for his contribution to the study of biomass energy and bioremediation which led to the development of innovative wastewater treatment technologies. Professor Shang-Hsien Hsieh, also been confirmed as corresponding member, specializes in engineering modeling and information management. In addition, he collaborated with more than 40 entrepreneurs to form the Taiwan BIM Task Group in order to make Taiwan’s industries more competitive. What these three candidates from Taiwan have accomplished has certainly won them worldwide acclaim.